Last week of Apple picking

I feel so sad, it’s the last week of Apple picking this week, well, I think so anyway, the farmer said at the beginning of last week that they’ll be another couple of weeks, but from what I remember last Friday there seems to be a fair amount of Apples left so hopefully there might even be another couple of weeks to go, the extra money would come in handy.

Not alot happened last week, had Wednesday off as there wasn’t enough bins to pick the Apples into as they are all at another farm, but we’ve got them back on Thursday.  So Wednesday I got our sofa and bed that was in storage and brought them to the herb field, we’re donating our sofa to the field as we couldn’t sell it and we don’t want it, but I will be putting the bed together this weekend and seeing if I can sell it on eBay.

Friday night we had a bonfire we was nice, I got the sofa and plonked it infront of the fire and slept out over night, it was great looking at the stars as I went to sleep and then listening to the birds as I woke up, our cat Sid sat with me all night too, even though he was quite cold.  When I woke up he had a film of dew all over him, heh!

Sunday we went to Brean Down which was really kool.  There was lots of fog until about midday so we couldn’t see very far, but it was great because not many people were walking along the Down.  It was quite a spooky walk as it seemed like something from a horror movie, all the bracken and wind swept trees in the mist, I don’t think we could see more than 20 metres in front of us.

I think the down is about 100m metres above see level, so it was quite a hike to get up there, we went up the steep side for a challenge.  It took about 2 hours to walk around the Down in total, and we spent about an hour looking around the old fort at the end of it.

Hopefully by the end of this week, I’ll have an idea of what will need doing around the herb field over winter and I can take this to the owner and have a chat with him about managing this place, I’ve really hated the last week, not knowing whats happening in a few months time really gets to me.  I like to plan things in advance, and not being able to the last few weeks has made me feel a little in limbo, ohwell, it’ll soon be over.

Leave a Reply

